Mac OS 10.7 Lion - who's using it?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by BBW, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. BBW

    BBW Administrator Emeritus Subscribing Member S.C. Charter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    13,210
    Location:
    NW corner of CT
    Real Name:
    BB
    So who here has gotten it and used it? I did a bit of a search this afternoon, avoiding the intense heat, and found a discussion on Luminous Landscapes that made things sound pretty darn good. Someone there gave a link to Adobe's page with some helpful info: Known Issues with Adobe products on Mac OS 10.7 Lion

    NiK software has this to say: Nik Software, Inc. | Support There apparently are no issues with Lightroom but there are some with Photoshop CS5. You should take a read through.

    I'm waiting a bit to read and hear more from some of you fearless leader types.:wink:
    Advertisement
     
  2. Streetshooter

    Streetshooter Administrator Emeritus S.C. Charter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,773
    Location:
    Philly, Pa
    I'm waiting till the initial bugs are exterminated.
    Usually takes 5-10 days....
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. ajramirez

    ajramirez Lounge All-Pro Subscribing Member S.C. Charter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,707
    Location:
    Caguas, Puerto Rico
    Real Name:
    Antonio
    I am afraid to try it. I think I read somewhere that Lion does not include (or work with) Rosetta. I believe, although i´m not sure, that my printer driver (Epson 3800) requires Rosetta to work, and I know for a fact that my screen calibrator software (Spyder 2) requires Rosetta to work. So, if Lion does not support Rosetta, I am SOL.

    In addition, Nik Software´s statement regarding Lion and Nik plugins for PS CS5 did not make me feel warm and fuzzy. I will definitely have to wait and see.

    Regards,

    Antonio

    Edit:

    This article confirms what I wrote above about incompatibility with Power PC apps and Rosetta:

    http://news.idg.no/cw/art.cfm?id=4393598E-1A64-6A71-CE04EF424B8D8C7F

    New calibrator software may be in my future, but that still leaves the printer driver question open.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Bill Gordon

    Bill Gordon Lounge Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Well BB, of course I have it, I was one of the one million that downloaded it the first day. What a money pit this is for Mac!!! It is much faster, many changes of optics to reflect the iPad, for instance, the iCal, the iMail, the address book, just cosmetic changes but they are nice to see. I am sure that there are many things buried that I won't need or ever use...but....is much faster with Safari!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Duane Pandorf

    Duane Pandorf Lounge Top Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    868
    Location:
    Western NC
    I've installed it on my 4 year old 15" MacBook Pro. I haven't had a chance to figure out all the new features yet as I'm at home with family and spending time enjoying them.

    So far it seems to be working ok. I wasn't aware about the Lion Migration Utility and probably should have run that first as I've had to update some of my default browser login/passwords.

    But other than that so far so good. BTW, Aperture seems to be a little faster with the update.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. kyteflyer

    kyteflyer ~@¿@~ Subscribing Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    6,103
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Real Name:
    Sue
    I've downloaded, copied to DVD and have NOT installed after perusing roaringapps.com and found that most of what I use is incompatible or hasnt been tested. So I will wait until updates are issued for those apps.
     
  7. Pelao

    Pelao Lounge All-Pro S.C. Charter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Real Name:
    Stephen
    I will download and install this weekend - I just have not had time. It doesn't take long at all if you just download and upgrade, but I am going to take the opportunity to do a clean install.

    I will, of course, make sure I have everything thoroughly backed up.

    I don't have any Rosetta applications.

    There don't appear to be any bugs with the OS itself, or even with other applications. Some have not been updated, but of course that's just a timing issue, not a bug.

    What I will likely do is upgrade my clone first, and run everything off that and see what happens.

    Good guide to the things to look for, and a 'how to' on the upgrade:

    http://www.macworld.com/article/161064/2011/07/installing_lion_complete_guide.html?lsrc=top_3
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Grant

    Grant Lounge Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Lunenburg Nova Scotia
    I have it installed on one computer. I did loose an old version of Office, but that is no big deal as iWorks. I have not installed it on the other computes as I am still getting use to it, while I sort of like it I am not blown away by it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. kyteflyer

    kyteflyer ~@¿@~ Subscribing Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    6,103
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Real Name:
    Sue
    Don't forget to copy the installer to another location BEFORE you install because it self-deletes. You dont want to have to download more than once. I must confess I am NOT happy about having to download, I would rather pay more, and get a hard copy thats boxed and legal.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Pelao

    Pelao Lounge All-Pro S.C. Charter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Real Name:
    Stephen
    Yes, I read about the deleting. Apparently a thumb drive version will be available in August, but for a higher price. I would rather just download and copy it.

    I am OK with downloading. I do it for other software and just keep a record of the key. It is new for an OS, but really seems sensible and simple enough to copy it to a DVD or USB drive. It does seem odd, but that's progress.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. BBW

    BBW Administrator Emeritus Subscribing Member S.C. Charter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    13,210
    Location:
    NW corner of CT
    Real Name:
    BB
    I would never thought of copying the software onto anything. Am I being obtuse? I just keep a record of the key, too - at least I hope I do!

    As for the "Lion Migration Utility"...is that mentioned anywhere? These are the kinds of things I would expect to have laid out in a step by step process...so I am glad you all are posting. I will bide my time a little bit and probably rely on my pal Don to give me a hand. I am looking forward to some of the new stuff, however!
     
  12. Streetshooter

    Streetshooter Administrator Emeritus S.C. Charter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,773
    Location:
    Philly, Pa
    Can we get a report about how LR3 and Nik plugins are working?
    I'm always nervous about fixing things that aren't broken.
     
  13. Pelao

    Pelao Lounge All-Pro S.C. Charter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Real Name:
    Stephen
    Hi
    With past changes to a new version of the OS, Apple (like everyone else) issued the new system via a DVD, and you could use that to update your various Macs. As you will have noticed, most everyday software is now issued by download, and they have decided to push forward and do this for the OS too.

    It's a large download, about the size of a full size movie. In order to clear space on your drive, when the update is finished the download auto deletes. So if you have multiple Macs to update, or want to keep a copy of the update, just copy it to a DVD or USB stick. Previous updates were $129 or so - so this is pretty good value.

    One of the advantages of a DVD was that you could boot from it (insert DVD, restart holding down option key and select the DVD when offered) and do repairs to your core drive. With Lion there is no DVD, but they have added a new utility allowing the same functionality. Well thought out and pretty cool.

    As I noted earlier I am going to update a clone of my drive. My backups consist of a clone, a TM backup and then separate backups for photos. So I will just clone my Mac (using free software SuperDuper), then boot from the clone, download Lion, copy it and then install on the clone.

    Then I basically can run my MacPro off the clone with Lion installed and play with my stuff and look for issues - and I wll be looking at PS, LR and Nik etc.

    I know a bunch of updated machines, no issues. The new OS offers some nice productivity developments and UI refinements, and even stronger security. Nothing that will harm or transform your world, so it's fine to wait for a bit.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. pictor

    pictor Lounge All-Pro S.C. Charter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,126
    You are too optimistic. In my opinion one should not use a new operating system before the first service pack. It is better to wait at least until 10.7.1 has arrived.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Pelao

    Pelao Lounge All-Pro S.C. Charter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Real Name:
    Stephen
    As I am running it off a clone and have my Snow leopard available to boot from at any time, I feel very safe in playing with it now. So far there are not any bugs in the OS itself, and it is mainly software vendors who will issue updates (many already have). This is a very mature, solid update.

    All that said though, I agree with Pictor's advice. Very sensible. I use Macs for work and am comfortable and confident in problem solving etc. But I will likely wait a while before updating the Macs for other other family members.

    Snow Leopard is solid and effective. No need to rush.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Streetshooter

    Streetshooter Administrator Emeritus S.C. Charter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,773
    Location:
    Philly, Pa
    Agreed my friend. I'm waiting......
     
  17. BruPri

    BruPri Lounge Top Veteran

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    668
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington USA
    Real Name:
    Bruce J. Pritchard
    I only use LR3 and rarely pull up Aperture, both work fine...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Streetshooter

    Streetshooter Administrator Emeritus S.C. Charter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,773
    Location:
    Philly, Pa
    Bruce,
    Have you taken an image from LR to Nik and then to PS5?
    I'm concerned about that workflow....
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. BruPri

    BruPri Lounge Top Veteran

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    668
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington USA
    Real Name:
    Bruce J. Pritchard
    Sorry Don, I only have LR3, not sure what Nik is but PSE 6 works just fine...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. kathyh

    kathyh Lounge Top Veteran S.C. Charter Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    734
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    Real Name:
    Kathy
    Nik works fine. I don't have PS anything.
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page